Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 29 Jun 2014 09:13:58 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (49 lines)
I write this as someone who years ago, used to be very opposed to epidurals and pro-natural childbirth. I admit to having had a knee-jerk reaction against all things epidural in the past. However,I'm trying to be more open minded about the issue and look at the research in an unbiased manner. It's not about my personal experience, it's about what the research shows. And in case you think I'm a pro-epidural person making this argument, I've never had an epidural myself. I had three natural childbirths. But when we take inconclusive research and present it to the medical community as proof that epidurals have a negative impact on breastfeeding, it undermines our credibility with healthcare providers.

So I think we need to be very careful about not going beyond what the research is saying.  First of all, one of the problems is that there is not enough research into women's health issues overall. I have been consistently encountering this lately among many issues related to childbirth and lactation. Many systemic reviews say the same thing, not enough research, inconclusive, more research needed. The ABM protocol about analgesia and Nancy Mohrbacher's book, Breastfeeding Answers Made Easy, state the same thing, it's inconclusive and more research is needed. Billions of dollars per year are spent researching cancer and heart disease, and very little is spent research childbirth and lactation, which I think is evidence of the continuing health care disparity between men and women in our society.