Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 21 Dec 2017 11:37:06 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
Here is a nice pdf with some "how to run" instructions at the end:  https://www.omlet.ie/files/public/omlet_guide_to_keeping_bees_and_beehaus_instructions.pdf  It's free, which it darn well better be for how expensive this hive is!!!!

The included directions show this hive being managed as a wider and deeper Lang, not as a horizontal hive.  Bars or frames, either way the bees treat the space as a fallen tree.  I'm sure many beeKs in winter areas have heard of bees surviving in fallen logs over winter, or possibly surviving years in such spaces.  And in Scandinavia, according to Eva Crane, bees were kept horizontally.  People in Russia are still doing so - Layens hive ( http://www.beeculture.com/the-layens-hive/) And I've been doing so for the past 2 years, so 1 full winter and starting this winter, in NE OH!  They are essentially long langs, I have 4 alive now, 4 last year.  I have had several die due to beekeeper incompetence (undetected queenless, varroa), but not due to immobilization due to cold.  Lots of evidence that bees handle horizontal spaces fine in winter!

As far as running a horizontal hive, the bees in my hive want to add large celled honey comb (or drone brood) at the REAR, far from the entrance.  This Omlet is intending for the bees to store honey ABOVE the variable-sized brood nest.  There are really nice diagrams at the end of the pdf showing the beekeeper expanding and contracting the number of frames in the brood space through the seasons.  The omlet hive can be considered to be a variable sized, wider and deeper Lang hive, with limited supering capacity.