Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 25 Jan 2002 10:41:08 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (20 lines)
Allen wrote:
>As far as personal experience is concerned, as a bee inspector, I have seen bees that seem totally immune to AFB.  In one memorable case, cited here before, every hive in the yard of 40 or so was broken down and full, of scale with the exception of 3 or so.  These latter bees were robbing the AFB deadouts and thriving without showing any active disease. I was amazed.

OK, but does that mean they have "disease resistance" and is it *hereditary*?

Let me give an example. In 1955, in the middle of the polio epidemic, I got polio. (At the time, everyone was paranoid about polio; some people were even afraid to swim in public places for fear of getting it from the water.) I was one of a family of 5 people. No one else in my family got it. Were they "disease resistant" and was it hereditary?

Furthermore, if they were disease resistant, does that mean they shouldn't need to be vaccinated? In fact, in 1956, when everyone was getting vaccinated, I stood there and argued with the school nurse, telling her I didn't need to be vaccinated, since I already had it. I got vaccinated anyway.

There are people today that refuse to get vaccinated. Don't need it, they say. And some even get polio from the vaccine. But what does that mean? We have a national policy that all children should get vaccinated against a variety of diseases. I wonder how many beekeepers forego *tetanus* vaccine? I hope not many, because a beekeeper in our area recently got tetanus and it was not a pretty thing. He was in a coma for many weeks and barely pulled through.