Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 13 Aug 2001 17:55:50 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (21 lines)
I have been following the discussion on IBCLC - RN or non, with great interest, and have finally decided to add my $.02.  As you will see from my signature, I am an IBCLC from a non nursing background.  There is a college here in the Los Angeles area that offers a BA or MA in Human Development with a specialization in Lactation, which means majoring in lactation.  It is Pacific Oaks College, in conjunction with the Lactation Institute.  While I did my Master's degree locallly, Pacific Oaks does offer their program to people who are not from this area via the internet.  The Lactation portion is usually done here, at the Lactation Institute and the courses are given in intensive form, so that one does not have to be away from home for any extended length of time.  Because I was able to devote full time to my studies and clinical hours I finished my degree, including writing and publishing a Theisis, in 2 calender years.  Most people take long than that and they can go at whatever pace they chose.  When I finished my course I was elgible and sat for the IBCLC exam.

When I first finished I thought that all I wanted to do was private practice.  As time went on I felt that I wanted to expand myself by doing hospital work.  With much ado about my not being an RN a HMO did hire me and I worked there, as well as doing my private practice for a number of years.  When my position was terminated I was replaced, both on the hospital floor as well as for follow-up post partum visits by 2 RNs, both who were RNs based on a 2 year community college program. They had recently become Certified Lactation Educators (they took a one week course).  They did not do any other hospital work and were part of the out-patient health education department.