Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 22 Jan 2008 01:56:31 +0100
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (91 lines)
Hello all,

Nancy was kind enough to send me the ad, so I could have a look at the whole thing.
It's not, Jennifer, that I'm desperately longing to improve the text for Ameda (for free), it's just that I'm challenged by text and as an editor I'm always trying to get the right message across.
I remember one case, in which our board worded something like this: "You can make a reservation for an answering machine to better regulate the calls you get as a volunteer and to prevent them from interfering too much with your family life. However, we cannot send the answering machines to your home address." I noted this was not true: of course we CAN send them, but we don't WANT to send them, as it is much cheaper for the association if the collegues pick them up at the next study day, so it's better use of the budget. So, don't hide behind "we CANNOT"; just be honest and say "WE DECIDED NOT TO" and explain why.

All of these things are very interesting, because in the above example, it is about taking responsibility and showing enough strength to stand for what you decided, even if others may disagree.
I think this is the issue in many situations: fear of saying what one really wants to say, either 'good' or 'bad', fear of taking a stand and stick with it.
I think that is what the pumping-issue is about, too: baby is important, but when it comes to priorities, earning a salary comes first (even if that salary serves the family that baby is part of), so the baby will have to spend time in daycare or wherever to allow mom to work. Because she loves her baby and wants to breastfeed, she is willing to express, in order to be able to give the best milk, even though she cannot give it in the best way: straight at breast.