Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 16 Sep 2013 12:51:02 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (32 lines)
I think there is more to this than just feed on demand or feed on schedule.  

I work as a RLC in a hospital and what I see is the importance of education.  I see parents say baby isn't hungry and let them go long periods swaddled in a crib or in someone elses arms.  This is different than a baby who goes a longer period between feeds who is skin to skin with mom.  

I use a good hostess/guest scenerio to explain.  It goes something like this:

A good hostess doesn't wait until her guests say they are hungry before she pulls out the snack tray.  She offers it and maybe the guest says yes and maybe the guest says no.  If the guest says no she doens't put it away so the guest has to ask for it again, she leaves it out until the guest has his fill.  

Mom is the hostess, baby is the guest.  We worry about missed feedings.  When baby is kept "in the kitchen" (skin to skin) or upright between mother's breast, in a laid back position for mom, we won't miss feedings.  

Staff often take the easy way of explaining feedings by just saying that baby needs to feed every 2 hours.

We need to say that when it has been long enough, go ahead and offer.  Don't wait for baby to say he is hungry, put him in the kitchen and wait.  A sleep cycle is one hour long and placing baby in the "kitchen" may take one hour before baby wakes to eat.