Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 25 Feb 2004 11:05:07 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (28 lines)
Hello, I am a nursing student at the University of North Dakota, and I am interested in the effects of breastfeeding in women who have had a breast augmentation.  I have looked at the LACTNET archives on this topic, but I would appreciate any new information.  Breast augmentation seems to be a growing trend, especially in women of childbearing age, and I would like to be well-informed should I be asked about this topic.

I have done some research, and I found that implants do have a significant effect on lactation.  Hurst (1996) conducted a study with 42 augmented women and 42 nonaugmented women.  She found that that 64% of the augmented women had insufficient lactation as compared with <7% of nonaugmented women.  Insufficient lactation was defined as little or no lactogenesis and/or infant growth rate of <20g/day with exclusive breastfeeding.  Sufficient lactation was defined as normal onset of lactogenesis within 7 days of birth and infant growth rate of 20-30g/day with exclusive breastfeeding.  She also found that the type of incision was related to the lactation outcome (Hurst, 1996).  The periareolar incision has the most adverse effects on lactation.  Hurst mentions that this type of incision may affect afferent neurons and nipple sensation.  She also mentions the pressure of the implant itself on the breast tissue (Hurst, 2003).