Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 22 Nov 2014 15:07:50 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (1 lines)
Hoda,

I work as an LC in a WIC clinic so I face some of the same things. One thing I would recommend is that you take the time to accompany the mother and baby to the ENT appointment. You won't have to do this forever, but the first few times are your opportunity to explain to the doctor what is wrong. I have observed that many parents don't do a good job conveying the problem. Doctors are looking for obvious complete anterior ties and don't understand what they are seeing. They don't observe a feeding so they don't understand the problem. 

I accompanied a Spanish-speaking family once, we had sat on the TT for 3 months before they decided that enough was enough and they wanted to proceed. Baby had to be supplemented by bottle to grow well. When the assistant interviewed them and asked how feeding was going, the mother replied, "Bien, bien" (as in, the baby gets enough with what we do and is growing well because of this) and the assistant wondered why they were there. I had to interject, "No bien!" and explain the bigger picture. No wonder they get kicked back to me sometimes! And then the provider wonders what the heck we are doing.  

Another strategy I have employed is to make a video clip of the baby-- showing the anatomical markers (mother and/or baby) and then a feeding, with explanations-- emailed to them. The ENT had initially told the parents that the TT was not a problem, but after viewing my video, did the procedure.