Date:
Fri, 21 Sep 2007 02:09:42 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (68 lines)

I a
Dear Fellow Lactation Consultants and Breastfeeding Advocates,

I am a part of the Trinity (The Father, Hilarion M. Henares Jr who is an 83-year old nationalist economist, Elvira, The Daughter, a dermatologist by profession who was inspired to take up the IBLCE exam to help me fulfill my goals in reviving the breastfeeding culture when I was able to empower her breastfeed her third child, and me as the Holy Skeleton) that helped propelled the breastfeeding movement in the Philippines.

Elvira and I are two of the only five International Board Certified Lactation Consultants in our country. We have institutionalized the celebration of World Breastfeeding Week in the Philippines by convincing our President to issue a presidential proclamation last 2005.

In partnership with SM Supermalls, the largest chain of malls in the Philippines, we have established the First Breastfeeding-Friendly Mall in the country and are now completing the launching of breastfeeding stations in all its 32 malls, serving thousands of mothers nationwide.

We established the first breastfeeding clinic in a private hospital in the Philippines in 2002 and the Philippine Academy of Lactation Consultants in 2005 that institutionalized the Continuing Medical Education on Breastfeeding in the Philippine Medical Association.