Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 22 Apr 2008 11:19:27 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (34 lines)
Regina writes:
"I don't understand the benefit of NOT keeping records. It seems riskier to me not to - it's not like a lack of records will keep us out of court. But I'm no lawyer.... "

Well Regina, I am a lawyer ... and you have hit the nail on the head.

Failure to keep adequate records -- esp. for an institution providing health care -- is just about the dumbest thing I ever heard of.  The liability exposure for no record-keeping vastly outweighs the liability for spotty or scant record-keeping.  All the records do is reflect the contact the patient/mother had with her caregiver.

Phone triage tools do NOT have to be complex -- although I applaud the computerized Miami WIC system Regina describes.  They need to indicate, at a minimum, who called (and when), her contact number, to whom she spoke, what problem/Q was presented, and how it was resolved.  Every single phone call should conclude with the sentence, "If you continue to have questions or concerns, call your baby's doctor/your doctor."  Why?  Because IBCLCs are members of the health care *team.*  We do not operate in a vacuum, all by ourselves.  ("Apr 23 2008.  Jane Doe called; 215-555-1212.  Spoke to Liz Brooks IBCLC.  Complained of sore nipples during latch of 5-day-old baby.  Discussed positioning; encouraging wide-mouthed latch by starting baby nose-to-nipple.  Told Mom to FU with her/baby's MD if further concerns.")

And I'll use this soapbox to dispel another forehead-slapper I've been getting at conferences:   IBCLCs who have been told they shouldn't get professional laibility insurance, because then "they will know who you are and can find you and sue you."