Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 2 Apr 2000 15:29:45 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (30 lines)
I am not a lawyer. The following is what I have gleaned from 30+ years of living with one. 
You can be sued for the following:
1. Battery-when a client does not consent to be touched and there is emotional or physical damage from "touching"(let's not go there again!)
2. Breach of warranty-promise to provide a service/guarantee and it is not provided.
3. Infliction of emotional distress or bodily harm by an act of omission or comission-there has to be a connection between the two above
We've been talking a lot about something the LC does that can cause a law suit, but there can be damage from something we do not do. For example,  a nurse does not properly assess shoulder pain as being related to uterine pain(referred pain) and therefore does not report this pain to the physician. The patient's uterus ruptures resulting in a baby with severe brain damage. In this case the nurse created an act of omission, by not properly assessing this mother and alerting the physician so that this baby could be delivered sooner.

In relation to the current discussion, why do we collect data if we are not going to make some kind of "diagnosis"? Assessment doesn't just mean collecting information. It means making a judgment about that data. Webster: "to estimate or determine the significance, importance or value of; to evaluate.

Another issue is documentation. A local obstetrician here was sued and the patient won big time not because he did anything wrong, but because what he did was not documented. 

Anyone can be sued anytime if there is a hungry enough lawyer, but whether it makes it passed the first hearing is another issue. I don't know the answer to the questions that have been proposed and discussed. As a private consultant, I think we are "out there". But here is what I believe and practice: