Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 10 Jul 2011 09:59:45 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (60 lines)
Bill T wrote:
<This year we had a prolonged wet rainy cold spell right after a long warm spell. It knocked down the brown tail moth <population from burgeoning to near zero in only two weeks.
<
<The weather has been getting colder over the past several years. Recent speculation has us going into a prolonged (10-<40 year) cold period.

We had a similar spring here - burst of warm/hot weather, then cold and rainy (but nice now).  I think that, at least locally (whether that is county, state, region-scale I do not know), is a cause that makes sense.

As for warming and cooling, in the late 70's when I was an undergrad working on my marine science degree, all the climate talk/research indicated we were overdue for the next Ice Age, which, I think, based strictly upon geological time, is still true.  In the early-mid 80's when I was working on my graduate degree in biology (night school, while working full time, so it took four years), there was not much change.  Then, in the late 80s-early 90s, when I was working on my MBA, again at night, (still taking science courses as electives when possible), suddenly, at least it seemed to me, all the talk had flipped 180 degrees (pun intended) and we were about to melt the planet.  Today, it is an amazingly polarized issue, comparable to abortion IMO (each side is right, the other is damned).  I am an ADT (Agnostic Doubting Thomas - my own term), a result of a Catholic upbringing and a hard grounding in the sciences, from which the one take-away I have used in just about all areas of my life to this day is to challenge everything, at least intellectually (I do have an aversion to jail).  So, who's right?  I don't know.  I think both sides have good arguments, but I also know that all data and the hypotheses derived therefrom are flawed to some degree.