Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 12 Mar 2003 11:12:47 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (25 lines)
     Hello, my name is Evan and I am a student nurse at the University of North Dakota College of Nursing.  I am beginning to spend more time with clients in the antepartum and postpartum periods of their pregnancies and many have been inquiring about the same thing: the effects of using pacifiers on infants that are breastfeeding.  I have been doing some fact-finding on the topic and would like to share what I have learned.  Kramer, Barr, Dagenais and Young, et al (2001) did a randomized, controlled study on women who intended to breastfeed for at least 3 months and who were delivered of singleton newborns of at least 37 completed weeks gestational age and 2500g birth weight.  All women were given a breastfeeding promotion package (informational pamphlets and a 45-minute interview with a nurse trained in lactation consultation), but the women in the experimental group were asked to avoid pacifiers when the infant was fussing and to first offer her breast to try and calm it
down.  If that failed, she should try to carry or rock the infant.  The control group had all options for calming the infant discussed, including pacifier use.  The results showed the difference in weaning prior to 3 months was not significantly different between the experimental (18.9%) and the control group (18.3%).  This study is important because it is a randomized, controlled study instead of using convenience sampling.  The study found no evidence that pacifier use is harmful for breastfeeding, but also that there were no beneficial effects of pacifiers on infant crying or fussing.  The non-pacifier soothing methods in the experimental group appeared to be adequate.