Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 21 Sep 2000 18:11:05 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (22 lines)
I have been working 24 hours a week for 4 years at my current hospital.  We have about 140 births a month.  I also have a wonderful partner who works 24 different hours a week, so we cover every day except Sunday. We see every nursing mom, every day. We call each mom after she goes home at least twice, most more than that. We see outpatients and do weight checks for all babies who do not have their first doctor visit in the first week. We teach a prenatal class, lead two support groups and a back to work class. We outreach the community with teaching at our local health department, Winthrop University, and the Catawba Indian Nation.

Education of the staff has always been a goal for us.  Right now our nurses are working on Lactation Education Module #40.  We offered the nurses a new module each month for 36 months, but we have slowed down a bit this year and we are doing one every 3 months.  For each module completed, the nurse gets 30 minutes of educational credit.  Some of our nurses are very eager, and complete the module within a few days of when it arrives in the nurses lounge.  Some take a while, some never do any of them.  They are not mandatory, but each module has about 15 nurses that complete it. We have a drawing each time at the end of the module for a free lunch, and if a nurse completes 6 in a row, we give them a little gift. I felt very proud when one of our nurses went to a breastfeeding seminar and came back saying she had already learned everything she heard from our modules.

We also have a breastfeeding bulletin board in the nurses lounge with interesting articles, updates, and upcoming conferences posted.  Nothing else can go on our bulletin board.  We update it frequently.