Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 16 Aug 2017 10:52:18 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (24 lines)
Hello! 
I am an RN IBCLC at a central Florida hospital. I've been a nurse for 26 years and obtained my IBCLC certification in 1996. I have worked in my current role as inpatient LC for almost 19 years. I had a private practice for 10. I also was a LLL leader for 5. During my time as a LLL leader I moderated an online Facebook group for our LLL group but it was also open to non members. It took about a year before I just couldn't moderate the group anymore, members were nasty to other mothers, people spoke poorly and inaccurately about the hospital where I was employed and it was just sucking the joy right out of me.
I vowed to stay off all social media sites regarding breastfeeding support.
Recently a former patient, a co-worker, and a local midwife (3 different people) sent me screen shots of a local social media closed group calling the LCs at my hospital negligent. They didn't use our names but if you live in this county you know who we are! After discussion with some other community members, employers, and one of the offenders themselves the group was archived. Now it has experienced a rebirth, without the members who stuck up for us, and it's happening again. They are using names and saying that we do not know how to adequately assess a baby's oral anatomy. The first go round was similar except they stated we were negligent because we did not diagnose and refer out for treatment babies with tongue and lip ties. One RN CLC stated she saw 10-12 patients a week from us that had not been diagnosed. I'm not an  ARNP, by the way.