Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 2 Jan 2010 12:17:55 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (28 lines)
Re: the thread on infant feeding vs breastfeeding, and what someone working with a breastfeeding mother should know about artificial feeding - as usual, it depends.

When I was only having contact with breastfeeding mothers as a peer counselor to mothers who phoned for advice, I felt no need to discuss in any detail the ins and outs of artificial feeding and I steadfastly referred all such questions to the baby's health visitor and stuck to the breastfeeding.  Now, I work as a staff midwife in the only maternity hospital in my area, and it's on my head as a public servant to make sure that every parent I counsel has the information they need to get their baby fed.  Most of the time that means knowing how to see that a baby is feeding effectively, and who to call if they aren't convinced that is the case.  In a sizeable minority of cases it also means making sure the caregivers know the difference between safest and unsafe practice for artificial feeding, from preparing a feed, right through giving it, and cleaning up afterwards.