Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 11 Mar 2012 11:04:32 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (31 lines)
Hi, this is my first time posting on Lactnet, though I've been lurking for a long time (even long before it was a profession for me) and love the things I learn here.  I just feel like I need to weigh in on this recent discussion because it is really effecting me and I can't stop thinking about it.  

I am a Certified Lactation Counselor and was educated through Health Children.  

First off I'll say that I am very clear with my clients that I am a CLC.  When someone calls me a lactation consultant, I correct them.  On my website I provide a clear explanation of what my certification is, and provide links to where I received it and who accredits it.  When someone asks me for help, I do my best to make sure that they know what they are asking.  Do I go over all the ways that makes me different from an IBCLC in detail?  Not so much.  No more than you'd expect a physician's assistant to go over the difference between themselves and a doctor in detail with every patient they see.  

When I was first certified (only about a year ago) and I started helping mamas I knew that I might not be qualified to help in all cases.  IBCLCs have had more training and generally are also nurses--and these days nearly have to be in order to achieve that "gold standard" of certification.  I've always had it in mind that if something I encountered that was beyond my scope of practice, I would refer the mama to someone who had more training than I do.