Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 15 Mar 2011 20:49:34 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
I'm catching up from last week. Somehow I got behind from Wednesday on. :-)   
Here, the word is 'ammepoliti' which means breastfeeding police.  My daughter's doctor told her at her very first prenatal check that the community midwife she had made an appointment with was 'for sure' a member of the BF police.  Just before that he had been astounded because she'd managed to get an appointment with a midwife before week 24, as there is a shortage of them where she was living them.  She told him the midwife was a friend of her mother, but I don't think she disclosed that I was a midwife.  Her response when he used the police term was to say 'Well of course she is, that's where my mother knows her from'  at which point he told her that BF is all very well but not everyone manages to do it and she shouldn't feel bad if she's one of them because you are just as good a mother if you don't breastfeed.  
She waited til he was finished and said 'YOU really don't need to worry about MY breastfeeding.'  End of conversation.