Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 31 Jul 2000 11:46:29 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (24 lines)
Dear Renate,

Yes, it is confusing, especially in such an international group. I haven't got all of them figured out yet, either, but I think that it is nice to know people's background to see what angle they might be coming from.

BSMT is a Bachelor of Science degree in Medical Technology (laboratory technology may be more meaningful to some - I work in a hospital lab doing testing in all departments and most blood draws as well as I work at night, alone.)  I have found this background to be very useful in my LC work as it involves a lot of biology, physiology, biochemistry.  We learn about a lot of different disease processes and how they affect the workings of the body.  It taught me to look at the whole picture when assessing a mom and baby, not just at the breasts and how the baby sucks.  And while I use herbs and homeopathy and other "alternative" medicine modalities, the scientist in me is often very sceptical of some of the things I read about here and in other places - just because it sounds nice and fits into our idealistic scheme of things, doesn't mean that it is true or useful - it has to make some kind of sense to me, based on my knowledge and experience.