Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 2 Apr 2018 13:22:10 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (55 lines)
Hi Anne,

I have some experience with this client base, and I was raised by hippies so I have a lot of anecdotal experience. I do have a few questions.  Is the baby going to be with her during this time? How many days does she plan on using the medicine? The things you gave her are great so far. In general, there are a couple of things that I would pass along; remind her to stay hydrated and eat. The combination of the two decrease appetite significantly (for about 12 hours). She will also need to remember to express her milk while using the medicine. She most likely will not enjoy using a pump during this time (due to the body feeling sensitive), but hand expressing would actually feel enjoyable, keep up milk supply, and prevent plugged ducts. She may be going to a festival or a retreat where electricity is not easy to find. I would ask her about her previous experiences, and find out what is she most concerned about (transferring into breastmilk or affecting her milk supply)?  Does she plan to take it all at once, or does she plan to spread it out in doses? Is this a one day thing, or more? If this is more than a 24 hour thing, I have noticed a decrease in milk supply (because of the lack of milk expression for multiple days in a row).