Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 27 Sep 2015 20:34:30 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (31 lines)
Hello, I have permission from mom to post, and I would really like your input on this one, because I am stumped.  Thinking maybe I should see mom and baby again, maybe I missed something the first time.

Mom is a G4 P4, her baby is 4 weeks old.  She is having burning pain in her breast on one side, mostly after feeds.  She says this has been going on since baby was 1.5 wks.  I looked at baby's mouth, no visible restrictions noted in tongue or lip, although I am not an expert with TT, LP, but I have seen my share.  Baby did have a little milk on the back of tongue, that seemed to wipe off easily.  I know this can be a sign of post. TT.  No visible signs of yeast in mouth.  

Mom has a history of oversupply with each child, but feels it is under control with this child at this time.  Observed baby feeding, had mom do a laid back position, thinking it would help with deeper latch and milk flow if fast.  Mom latched baby well, tips given on getting a deep latch, mom verbalized a comfortable latch.  Baby did cough/choke once during feeding, maybe still a little oversupply, or tongue issues?  No nipple creasing noted after baby came off of breast. No redness, skin irritation, or white noted on nipple.

Mom latched baby on other side, after done with first side, and said, it is always perfectly comfortable, and she never has any pain during or after feeding on this side.