Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 11 Dec 2009 22:01:39 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (28 lines)
While most who have chosen to reply to me off list have understood and agreed with where I was coming from in my original post, I am disheartened by people who have immediately assumed that just because I herald the praises of a binky in MY world - means that I push them on others.  Remember, I am a board certified lactation consultant and I have been in practice for years.  I also am a trainer for a local Nursing Mothers organization. I do not TELL mothers to use pacifiers - nor do I withhold facts or let them believe that they come without their caveats.  

To address:

" that doesn't mean we should mis-represent the potential impact of pacifiers with so much data available.  It is one thing for a mother to make an informed decision to use a pacifier, it is quite another for lactation professionals to fail to inform mothers of potential risks…"

and

" In any way encouraging someone to do something we did just because in our case it didn't seem to cause any problems is way crossing the line."