Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 6 Apr 2018 14:02:07 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (29 lines)
Interestingly as I am studying for a pathophysiology exam I can across a reference to a study done by Andersson, Persson, and Kjellgren on this exact topic, used for treating cluster headaches and migraines. The paper was published in 2017 and the full reference is: 

Andersson, M., Persson, M., and Kjellgren, A., (2017).  Psychoactive substances as a last resort—a qualitative study of self-treatment of migraine and cluster headaches. Harm Reduction Journal, 14, 60

I know they are also starting to look at the therapeutic effects of thalidomide, it seems that everything really is a cycle, and hopefully with each cycle we get smarter.

Just quickly to answer the reporting for potential abuse, that raises a good question. I think it would depend a little on the laws where you practice, and a lot on whether there is abuse happening or not. This mother has only asked a question, we know nothing else about her. I trust that the LC who is working with her will have potential harm for infant on her radar and act accordingly.