Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 18 Jun 2007 11:26:21 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (43 lines)
I just wanted to share with everyone a surprising and redemptive discovery I made this weekend.  It is purely anecdotal (hopefully enlightening to you), and long!

I am fairly new to this profession, working now as a hospital based breastfeeding educator; I will sit for the exam in July.  I have been reading postings to this list and have learned incredible amounts from all of you.  The recent postings regarding ankyloglossia, especially differentiation of types, have brought this anomaly to the forefront of my mind and I have been much more aware of it in my practice.

This weekend, my son (age 14 1/2  years) was talking to me and happened to make a noise with his tongue.  I saw the underside while he did this, and thought, "Wow, what a prominant frenulum!"  (Is that something only a lactation consultant would ever think?!!) I asked him to stick out his tongue for me, and when he did, what did I see at the tip?  A very distinct heart shape!!!  I asked him to stick his tongue out as far has he could, and he could only curl it over his bottom lip and onto his chin.