Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 30 Jan 2003 18:57:29 -0600
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (27 lines)
My name is Leah, and I am a nursing student at the University of North Dakota.  I am interested in the topic of breastfeeding and intelligence.  Through researching this topic, I’ve found that some studies show that breastfeeding results in higher intelligence scores, and others show that breastfeeding does not result in higher intelligence. Because of the discrepancy in the results of these studies, I’m not convinced that breastfeeding is directly associated with intelligence.  An article written by Jain, Concato & Leventhal (2002) reviewed many studies that have tried to determine whether breastfeeding has a beneficial effect on intellect.  Of the 2 highest quality studies reviewed, one concluded that the effect of breastfeeding on intellect is significant, the other did not.  Of the other 7 studies reviewed, 3 concluded that breastfeeding promotes cognitive development and 4 did not.  The article concludes that there is no convincing evidence that exists about the effects 
of breastfeeding on intelligence (Jain, Concato & Leventhal, 2002).