----------
> In a message dated 2/7/98 3:56:02 PM !!!First Boot!!!,
> [log in to unmask] writes:
>
> <<  I have worked in the Community for the past 12 month=
>  s and have had to deal with numerous families at or near breaking point =
>  because of a child who does not sleep at night.   >>
>
> What has been your personal experience at home, with your own babies?
>
> Just wondering,
>
> Deya Stavinoha
> Longview, TX
>

I, like a lot of mothers, rocked or patted my daughter to sleep.  This was easy at first, as it is very easy to put newborns to sleep.  I am a Midwife and so had plenty of practice settling babies to sleep.  However, when she got to about 3 months it suddenly got very difficult to put her to sleep.  As soon as I started to cuddle her and rock her she would start to cry and scream and fight going to sleep (I have seen this with other friends and other people's babies on numerous occasions).  I was talking to a friend one day (who had a baby 4 months older than mine) and asked her if there was anything she did with her baby that she wouldn't do next time.  She told me that she would never start rocking her next baby to sleep as she was now also having terrible trouble getting her baby to sleep.  I immediately decided to stop rocking also and went through a fairly traumatic few days while patting, stroking, singing to calm my daughter but not to put her to sleep until she learnt to do it herself.  This problem was only in the daytime as this was the only time I had rocked her.  I had always simply put her down (with that "full as a goog" look) after her breastfeeds at night and she had simply gone to sleep.  She slept through the night at 8 weeks of her own accord - nothing I did.  I certainly did not try to "Ferberise" her and did not ignore her cries for hunger.  She just slept for 8hours between feeds one night and kept going, gradually extending the time to about 10 hours.  I never had another problem with her going to sleep (except nights when she m