Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 23 Aug 2018 13:05:52 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (8 lines)

Kirsten replied: " To clarify, I always send authors the edited article with ALL changes tracked. I suggest they put my edits into their own words. If they disagree with my edits, I am willing to listen to their reasoning and usually we can find a solution that pleases both writer and editor. Readers expect editing for clarity, readability and accuracy in content and that is what my editorial changes strive to achieve."The role of an Editor is in part to Edit.  Don't think that doesn't happen in Peer-Reviewed papers.  Kirsten's response is exactly what I expect from a conscientious and engaged editor.Having published in everything from Science to Bee Culture, having dealt with reporters from the local media to the Wall Street Journal and API, I've had lots of experience with Editors.The Editor that I don't want, as well as the journals, magazines, newspapers and other media that I don't respect, are those that think fact checking simply means spelling my last name correctly (there are no a's in Bromenshenk) and those that refuse to let me even see a copy of the article before they publish.  Having been burned more than once - I find that unacceptable.  This issue becomes even more important when dealing with reporters.  At a National Meeting of Tech Science Writers some years ago, the editors, writers, and reporters agreed that their 'Editors' had a policy that they (the writers) should not provide a pre-publication copy of the final article for review.  Only one reporter indicated that he actually provided a pre-copy, and he acknowledged that was going against policy.  And these were the Science Tech Writers for prestigious newspapers, magazines, and journals like Scientific American.  The Editor's concern seemed to be that they didn't want the information source changing the