Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 19 Sep 2014 11:41:07 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
My reply to an off list request for those who may be interested:

I am located on a ridge top in northeast Alabama that overlooks the Tennessee river.   I got my start with bees in the summer of 2010, but didn’t start using this current stock until 2011.  The supplier from whom I purchased my queens and nucs has been propagating these successfully off treatments since 1996 having started them from feral bee tree cut outs.  I am in the process of building a list of keepers working with these off treatments and so far there are five of us that I know of and all having similar results.

I am a hobbyist/sideliner and run +/- 20 hives for honey and nuc production.  My average winter loss so far is under 15% and mostly attributable to queen failure with one confirmed case of heavy mite infestation.   I believe the loss rate may improve over time along with my experience level and the winnowing of less hearty stock.   The supplier typically has losses around 5%.   I don’t take mite samples on a regular basis, but out of interest I may do counts later in the fall and after I am finished with the honey harvest.

I have noticed that this stock is very good at swarming in the spring and I have had only limited success with methods to prevent it.   I have decided that going forward I will likely perform an ‘artificial swarm’ on most of my colonies whereby I’ll split the overwintered queens with two or three frames of bees and brood to make up nucs just prior to swarm season.  I think this will give me more consistent honey production per hive plus save me the trouble of capturing and hiving the swarms.