Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 3 Jun 2001 13:18:20 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (16 lines)
Hi all,

I'm not only new to this list Server, but I'm also new to beekeeping.  This is my first year and I have two hives.  One, which started as a 3 lb. package of Italians in April, is doing great, with a wonderfully active queen.  The other is a colony of Carniolans that I bought from a gentleman that had to move from the area.  Unfortunately, they started showing signs of wanting to swarm this spring, which I have learned is their nature with their big initial build-up in early spring.  I like this trait (the build-up, not the swarming LOL) but unfortunately I did what is now recommended not to do, I destroyed most of their queen cells as I found them.  A week ago I noticed that there was no new cells or larvae to be found, but a lot of capped brood left.  There was one nice long queen cell that had been chewed out of, though, and I figured that maybe a swarm had already issued, although the population still seemed strong, and that I now had a young virgin queen waiting to mate.  However, I checked again yesterday, a week later, and there are still no new eggs or larvae- or queen cells.  I searched and searched and saw nothing resembling a queen, which doesn't mean there isn't one, but there was no other signs of an active queen, as I stated above.  I believe I may have killed one or more queens in my bumbling efforts of 'hive inspection'.