Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 9 Jul 2013 15:20:53 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (31 lines)
The paper "Transient Exposure to Low Levels of Insecticide Affects Metabolic Networks of Honeybee Larvae " is well done.  The research was careful, thorough, and the authors were conscientious about cross-checking the results of the molecular techniques they used in order to confirm any variations in the results.  This is important because the methods are very sensitive, and since variations among genetically-different individuals are normal, overall effects are subtle.  In order to ensure that observed overall effects are real, therefore, multiple assessment methods are needed.

I am not an expert in, nor do I perform RNA-Seq, multiplexed RT-PCR, or other molecular methods employed in this paper.  I do, however, understand how they work and what they are supposed to show.  I was struck by this observation in the paper: