Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 13 Jul 2007 11:36:07 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (24 lines)
Hi Paul and All

First of all, I should declare that I'm a hobby beekeeper and I live far, far away from almonds, Capitol Hill, orange groves, Xerces HQ, and, it seems, CCD.  (This year we seem to have Queen Mating Disorder over here instead, but that's another story)  I'm a scientist too, and have dabbled in pollination biology on occasion.

Paul said:
> Further, the STATED GOAL of these advocates of native pollinators
> is to COMPETE with beekeepers: http://www.xerces.org/Pollinator_Insect_Conservation/pollinator_week_action.html

Well, I read the link you sent.  It seems to me to be a reasonable statement on pollinators in the US and pretty much agrees with what Matthew Sheperd wrote in his reply earlier.  It is true that honeybees are poor pollinators of some crops.  It is true that, collectively, native pollinators are more versatile than honeybees.  It is also true that the honeybee is the singlemost important pollinator in the US.  To say that it is the 'STATED GOAL' to 'COMPETE' with honeybees is far from the mark.