Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 21 Jun 2013 16:45:09 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (19 lines)
Funny thing here.  My aunt is interested in our family geneology.  She just sent me the following article:

http://www.boulderweekly.com/article-11315-epa-under-pressure-t.html

...in which Larissa Walker, of the Center for Food Safety, is mentioned.  I have never heard of Larissa before today but it turns out that we are related.  We are both descended from the same beekeepers, dating back to the 1870s.   We've had beekeepers in our family continuously since then (or even before then, I'm still looking into it).  This article makes me proud.  I'm a scientist and hobby beekeeper, but I have "bees in the blood", and here is a distant relative who is also a pollinator/honeybee advocate working at a scale that might make a difference to the positive for our buddies, the honeybees.

The insidious effects of the current short-term miracle "wonder-pesticides"...acetylcholine agonists of the neonicotinoid class...are becoming more obvious as we continue to use them.  Sixty years ago, my grandfather's beekeeping business was nearly wiped out by DDT.   (This loss became an e-documented court case, and I will send the link to any interested readers) Back then DDT was the "wonder pesticide".  Was any lesson learned here?  Many on this list say "now is better than then".  I challenge you...if your bees are dying more slowly now than "then", but they still wind up dead....is that better?

Slow deaths are screened by management techniques like splits.  Ask yourself:  If you didn't do splits would you still have bees?