Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 7 Jul 2014 17:42:56 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (22 lines)
Sitting here pondering  things a bit,  trying to be sure not to be argumentative.  sometimes I am not good at it in typing,  and sometimes we just get misread.
Before I signed up for bee-l ( a friend actually asked me too )  I read a lot of post, and lurked.   Great group,  some fantastic discussion, and a lot of prognosticating.
So I as pondered what can I add to the discussion,  I am definitely not a scientist.  some days I even wondering about my Engineering skills.   But what was glaringly missing from here is a real Midwest farm country viewpoint.    It seems obvious to me that many around the world have been fed a line of garbage.  For so long its become the truth.  I have seen reports on how big AG has ruined the world,  ripped out fence rows and depleted the insects to nothing.  among other ilks.  99% of it is not true.  
I was blessed for 12 years working with CNH on grain harvesting (combines)  and got to travel the US and some other countries an their dime.  I have traveled to the Sacramento valley and southern GA and north Fl on my own,  just to see what's going on.  and every day I work, eat and talk to Farmers, serious farmers,  guys who run 1200-5000 acres.  Just Sat night we were at a friends watching the fights and the topic (usually turns to bees)  was a new way to apply nitrogen thats upping yields by 10-15%  and cutting cost.

I don't know anything about Montana fields,  or Canadian beeks,  or Maryland or NYC,  but I know IN, IL, IA, MO, and KY real well and several other locations thur a lot of good friends.

We can choose to believe what some time article writes,  or we can ask someone who actually lives there....