Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 31 Dec 2017 09:04:39 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (29 lines)
May a lowly sideliner/hobbyist put her oar in here? We are finding we can breed, even on a small scale and without access to special lines, much better bees than we can buy. We don't need to wait, or have special equipment/genes.

I have been beekeeping for 10 years, and worked my way through the Apprentice/Journeyman/Master Beekeeper stream that is a wonderful feature of USA beekeeping.

Most of my fellow club members are hobbyists or small sideliners like myself. We are fortunate to have a good sprinkling of great science + critical thinking backgrounds in our membership. And a big focus for us is helping our new beekeepers out with good advice suited to our area. As a membership, as a small tribe of small beekeepers, we have found that whatever breeding is done to produce the packages our new beekeepers depend on to get their start, it doesn't seem to have our needs in mind.

So much so, and after the 2016 season, in which bought queens/package queens went AWOL at an incredible rate, throwing our new USA adb Canadian member beekeepers in at the very deep and very expensive end of the pool (new packages in Canada were running at $200 that year, and are pushing toward $250 now...I realize that is $0.75 in US$ (just kidding! inside cross border club joke)...but in any case our new beekeepers were having all kinds of trouble with vanishing queens, finding that out too late and ending up with hopeless drone layer colonies late in the year. Unacceptable!!! Overwintering, awful. Honey harvest, ditto.