Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 5 Mar 2018 14:37:58 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (17 lines)
I think those are good questions answers  Peter. Not quite sure about the tone of them, but I've got a thick skin.

I've been a hobbyist  beekeeper for almost 25 years, and as this is an newish phenomena (the development of a synergy between Varroa, viral pathogens, and N. ceranae),  and the understanding of DWV has strains that are wildly different in virulence and mortality, I was curious if there was anyone out there doing anything proactive in practice about limiting their hives exposure. If in fact, a decomposed larva carcass in a hive that died of DWV ended up being a "DWV bomb", or had a chance of being one, it seemed prudent to not ask the bees to be cleaning it out. 

As mentioned in a previous email, I had at one point a number of hives adjacent to each other succumb to CBPV. And- died. Spreading like that, and dying, is not really "normal" for that virus - the general "treatment" as you know is try re-queening, decongesting,  and not worry about it, as it is unlikely to spread.  That it did just the opposite in my apiary, felt like a "new" phenomena to me- possibly related to the mite loads.  I contacted the Beltsville Lab at the time, as well as our own extension office. Judy Chen asked that I send samples as they were assessing the role of mites with CPBV. She suggested that I use a bleach solution to clean the equipment, and the area which they were in, which I did. I also isolated these hives as best I could- took them into the deep woods around here to avoid further contamination (where they died). None of that was recommended as far as I could find in any bee literature, but I wouldn't hesitate to do it again should it happen again. Its horrible.