Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Fri, 10 Apr 2009 07:46:40 +0000
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (37 lines)
You asked about legal limits for imidacloprid residues.
Hi Bob and All

You asked about legal limits for imidacloprid residues.  A note first: I *do* accept that imidacloprid is safer for man than the OPs that it and other neonicotinoids replace, and as a crop scientist I'm well aware that there is a place for pesticides in production systems.

So, are the levels from this 1998 decision still in force?

http://regulations.vlex.com/vid/pesticides-raw-commodities-imidacloprid-23415850

'This rule extends the time-limited tolerances for residues of the insecticide imidacloprid and its metabolites in or on the citrus fruits crop group at 1.0 part per million (ppm), dried citrus pulp at 5.0 ppm, beet roots at 0.3 ppm, turnip roots at 0.3 ppm, and turnip tops 3.5 ppm for an additional 18-month period, to June 30, 2000.'

Perhaps they are, as this document updated limits for imported produce in Canada in 2004.

http://canadagazette.gc.ca/archives/p1/2004/2004-09-25/html/reg3-eng.html

'... 3 p.p.m. in sour cherries, sweet cherries and tomato purée, 1 p.p.m. in blueberries and tomatoes, 0.5 p.p.m. in apples and cucumbers, 0.3 p.p.m. in potatoes, and 0.05 p.p.m. in mustard seed and rapeseed (canola), and at 3.5 p.p.m. in brassica crops, 1.5 p.p.m. in grapes, 1 p.p.m. in citrus fruits and peppers, 0.6 p.p.m. in pears, 0.2 p.p.m. in mangoes, and 0.05 p.p.m. in cottonseed oil ....'

I'm sure that everyone reading this will know to add three zeros to convert ppm to ppb.  I guess that I should try hard to keep the bees out of my fridge?

The arguments in Europe have been around levels in arable crops of around one to a few ppb - levels that I think are, probably, safe.