Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 3 Dec 2003 17:34:07 -0800
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (27 lines)
I feel like I'm about to stick my face into buzzsaw here, but some very strong things are being said about the "ethics" and "purity" of honey which seem a bit over the top.

First, my qualifier.  I am a hobbyist, not a producer.  My point of view is purely that of an educated consumer of honey.

1.  Last I heard, sugar was still derived from plants.  (Yes, I acknowledge that it's factory-processed.)  Even given the legal definitions that have been cited, you have not yet convinced me that sugar-based honey is definably different from other-based honey.

2.  Sugar is not dangerous to eat (excluding obesity risk which is not the point of the discussion).  Throwing around the word "contamination" in the context of sugar in my honey strikes me as irresponsible.  "Contamination" is an emotionally laden word with very strong connotations of toxicity and danger.  Please find a different word.

3.  Feeding sugar with the INTENT to dilute or replace nectar-based honey certainly falls over the line of consumer deception, but ...

4.  Trace or insignificant amounts of sugar-based honey does not automatically spoil the whole batch.  (Please do not use the strawman that this argument means that trace amounts of miticides are therefore acceptable.  See 2 above - sugar is not toxic.)