Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 14 Nov 2015 08:08:07 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (62 lines)
" I have never used " sugar bricks " before. Can someone tell me why they are a good idea and how you use them ?"

Winter sugar feed, whether dry or in various forms like sugar blocks, candy boards or fondant, never take the place of good winter hive prep late summer and early fall.

But sometimes hives are overlooked, are in a less than optimal shape for health or queen reasons,  that were rectified late in the season, or the colonies are too small (Such as over wintered mating nucs) to get enough feed into them to last the entire winter.

Once it gets too cold for liquid feeding methods, dry methods are your last resort..or just good insurance if you are unsure.

In my case, I also use the sugar blocks on any colony that is over wintering in a single. Even if they have good weight, they still can benefit from supplemental feed directly above the cluster and in spring, directly above the brood nest until natural feed sources start to produce if the colony has enough foragers to leave the developing brood nest to collect in cool spring weather.

Solid Blocks are easy and quick to slip in on top the frames and hard for bees to haul out, if they were so inclined to try before they decided they needed them. That makes them more convenient to install when the weather is pleasant for the beekeeper.

[IMG]http://i425.photobucket.com/albums/pp340/tweety4926/2015%20bees/PB090308_zpsfh3va7tw.jpg[/IMG]

There's some debate about the use & safety of cider vinegar. All I know it the recipe I posted works great for me and the vinegar is an important part of that. By making the block more nutritious, more acidic and more appealing so they actually consume the slow and steady and fairly concentrated supplementation.