Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sun, 21 Oct 2018 11:12:02 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (23 lines)
> > The influx is far from uniform

My numbers support the same thing. Here are some wash numbers I did on 10/8 from colonies next to each other in a yard with 27 colonies all of which are in close proximity.    18, 9, 34, 16, 28, 15, 35, 29, 6 

In this yard, I applied OAV many times throughout the season at various intervals using a ProVap 110. This is my first year using the ProVap, and with these disappointing late-season numbers, I started to think about the efficacy. 

I begin vaporization dispersion tests by using different devices and examining the amount of vapor in the colony immediately following applications. Although I expected a cloud when I opened the top, most colonies just had wispy trails in the seams leaving me to wonder where it all went. To find out, I tried some with just inner covers and screened bee escape holes.  On those tests, very little vapor found its way out of the top - I expected vapor to pour out during the process.  It may be that to get the most out of vaporization in my field conditions,  learning more about how vapor is dispersed and how it condenses on hardware will help. Wind, humidity, and temperature may play a role in addition to the application point, and the configuration of the frame hardware.