Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 1 Sep 2010 07:42:38 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (29 lines)
Have been reading the AFB OTC resistance tennis match with great interest, especially since many moons ago my thesis was titled "The effects of heavy metals, organometals and metalloid compounds on enzyme activity and microbial methods of detoxification", but have a different topic along the lines of 'And now for something completely different'.

I just made my first attempt at raising queens by grafting.  Now, I am a complete and total newbie at this - I bought a Chinese grafting tool, a cell frame with the push-in cups, did a lot of reading, watched a couple of videos on YouTube and went at it on my kitchen table (Yes, attending a course would be nice, but my business travel made that impossible this year).  Figured I would learn as I go and any resulting queen cells would be a success.  Grafted 32 larvae last weekend from my VSH queen and set the frame in my starter/finisher hive, in which I am using a Cloake board.  Checked yesterday and have four cells, so I can do it, but need to practice (For example, it appears that using a sideways scooping motion, like a spoon in soup, is better than stabbing straight down the side of the cell and pulling up).  With only a dozen hives, I don't need huge batches of queens, so a series of small successes (i.e. low percentages of queen cells per grafting attempt, which, hopefully, will improve over time) works for me as well as one big success.  Besides, it's a cool process,and I am really enjoying it (said the Once and Future Nerd).