Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 14 Nov 2012 11:38:28 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (24 lines)
Hi Peter,
I've been using natural comb for the past 7 years and see a much wider range in worker cell size than 5.2 to 5.4. I've also seen worker brood raised in what I consider drone cell size later in the year. I never gave the later much thought other than it seemed unusual until I came across the article by Zachary Huang, Department of Entomology, Michigan State University which sounds pretty interesting. Has anyone on the list seen similar?

http://www.extension.org/pages/65450/varroa-mite-reproductive-biology

C.    Effect of Cell Size
Partly because mites reproduce better in drone brood than worker brood, people tend to think that smaller cells would decrease mite reproduction.  However two recent studies show that there was either no difference in mite population between colonies (Ellis et al., 2009) using “small cells” (4.8 to 4.9 mm diameter) and regular foundations (5.2-5.4 mm), or small cells actually had a significantly higher mite population (Berry et al., 2010).  Unfortunately, neither of these recent studies determined the fecundity or fertility of mites in the two types of cells.