Bill Hesbach <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 28 Aug 2018 10:47:05 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/mixed
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2929 bytes) , IMG_4114.jpg (1 MB)
Hi All,

This accident was operator error but I wanted folks to know what occurred because I think it can happen to anyone using this device.  
I've been using a ProVap 110 successfully for two years without a problem until yesterday. I use it per the manufacturer's instructions with one exception:

>"This vaporizer is most easily used from the back of the hive, where a small (¼”) hole is drilled in the back center of the ¾” rim of the bottom board that supports the bottom brood box."

The exception is that, with my equipment, I couldn't drill the holes in the bottom board rim so I drilled them in the box below the rear hand hold.  It worked just fine until a frame inside one box managed to get aligned with the whole. That only leaves about 3/8 inch between the frame and the inside surface of the box where the hole is drilled.  When I inserted the discharge tube, which is about 1 1/2 inches long, it must have butted up against the frame's end bar leaving no room for the gases to exit. As a result, when I turned the ProVap over to sublimate the oxalic acid, the white Teflon lid that holds the oxalic acid exploded off the device spewing extremely hot gas and liquid OA everywhere.  I had a full face respirator which saved my face from severe burns (see the photo) but I learned something else about the respirator. 

First, when you wear eyeglasses like I do, a full face mask doesn't fit quite right and therefore this is what's recommended by the safety experts.