Informed Discussion of Beekeeping Issues and Bee Biology <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 19 Mar 2009 05:42:44 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (52 lines)
Hi all,

I have been meaning to post in re: to the "treadmill" thread because I have seen some interesting things the last few years
in regards to mite loads on bees.

I must say that although we run thousands of hives, I am not an expert on bee knowledge, but successful in getting by and surviving by pragmatism.

I do what I have to do to keep my bees alive to make honey and provide strong hives for pollination. I have learned from trial and error what works and what 
doesn't work and those parameters can change year to year. I'm all about getting off the treatmill. 

Let's talk queen stock... 

Allen commented(and I agree with his points overall):
"Agreed.  That is why beekeepers have not rushed out to buy the strains that 
have proven resistant.  Most are reluctant to take a chance on new stock 
which may require different management and which may not perform in their 
environment.  Any stock where important commercial traits were not held 
above survival are suspect.

The major marketing challenge for breeders is to prove to beekeepers that 
strains labeled as disease and/or pest resistant are also productive, 
reasonably gentle, manageable, truck-able, able to generate large 
populations in time for package production or pollination, good for queen 
rearing, winterable, economical with stores or whatever the buyer is looking 
for."

We have been supplying cells to beekeepers in the Florida panhandle and it has gotten a life of it's own. We started out making our own cells for our operation and the