Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 11 Aug 2011 21:23:34 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (45 lines)
I've been teaching for almost 2 decades, and I can't TEACH a class, even a class I have taught previously, without learning something new. 

As the saying goes, "When the student is ready, the teacher shall arrive."

It is so foreign to me this mindset that further education will actually create 'less qualified' IBCLCs. 

We need to establish the skillset of the entry level IBCLC, and then establish the education that culminates in the development of the knowledge, theory, skills, abilities, values, and attitudes that exist within the IBCLC job functions.

Counseling should be a requirement, although an excellent source of teaching the art of counseling, LLL is not the only place that trains students to acquire the skills of counseling. Holding a degree or training in another discipline doesn't interfere with one's ability to develop counseling skills. I'm very confused by the repeated comments which imply that for some reason, when one becomes a RN, they are therefore incapable of learning effective communication and counseling approaches? I took 3 quarters of classes related to counseling, interpersonal skills and effective communication, and communication styles as a Human Services major. 

By facilitating my understanding of body systems, completion of A&P has definitely enriched my understanding of lactation. By studying homeostasis, I have an increased understanding of the consequences when mom and baby have physiologic conditions which disrupt this state and interfere with breastfeeding.