Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Sat, 30 Jun 2001 02:03:37 -0700
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (36 lines)
The recent discussions on maternal and paternal interactions, attachment theory,bonding and paternal maternal interaction have induced me to finally write to LACTNET. 

Since this is my first time posting , I will  introduce myself. I have been involved with the breastfeeding world for nearly two decades as a mother, registered nurse,  retired La Leche League Leader, lactation consultant, childbirth educator, birth support person and psychotherapist. My Master's degree is in counselling and applied psychology. I am presently in the last stages of completing a PhD in developmental psychology and family relations. I have published research on maternal infant interaction during breastfeeding (1993) and my present doctoral dissertation is on interactions in breastfeeding families. This is an extension of my research on nursing dyads and reflects post graduate training in family and couple therapy.

Hence, as you can see the discussions on interaction, attachment, fathers and breastfeeding and similar issues, apply directly to my work and research. 

Some of you have mentioned attachment theory so I will provide you with a very brief review of this theory and how this pertains to nursing. The basic premise of attachment theories (there are different theorists within this model each presents a specific perspective of attachment) is that the early relationship between an infant and a primary caregiver will have an impact on ability to form relationships.  A central component of attachment theory is the capacity of the caregiver to sensitively respond to infant cues. It is proposed that infants whose cues have been answered sensitively will develop secure attachment styles and will be able to form appropriate relationships with others outside of the primary attachment system.