Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 7 Aug 2000 09:49:33 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (22 lines)
Would like to ask any of you who teach bf classes....

I have been teaching for about 12 years now.  As of late, I have changed my approach a bit to certain subjects to see what would happen.  For instance, spending a little more time on the benefits of breastfeeding and being a bit more specific about the hazards of formula (rather than the advantages of bf - you know the drill.)  Also have tried to emphasize the importance of using as few drugs in childbirth as possible - always talked about it, but again, not very specifically.  I have been a LLL Leader for 20 years as well and think that I have put across this information and encouraged discussions without being too strident - I can usually tell myself when I am reaching that point.  And there are still the usualy disclaimers about everyone's situation being different and how decisions must be made based on what is best for each individual mom, baby and family.  My main objective was to get them to think a little more outside the box.