Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Wed, 30 Jan 2008 10:13:18 -0800
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (63 lines)
Dear Liz & all:

According to everything taught in the accreditation process of LLL Leaders (please refer to pgs. 18, 19 & especially top of 20 of the Breastfeeding Answer Book third revised edition)...there has been ongoing studies of the effects of milk removal and replacement basically since we learned it affects a supply long term.  (specifically DeCaravalho 1983 & Daly 1993)

To sum this up, lactocyte cells have prolactin receptors (please forgive me as I am NO SCIENTIST - it's intriguing but still a professional scientist, I am not!!) and in the early weeks when milk is frequently removed from the breasts these sites fill with prolactin (the milk making hormone) OR when milk is not removed frequently & effectively these receptor sites fill up with progesterone!!!  These sites filling up with progesterone is a bad thing!!!...as we all know progesterone & estrogen levels should stay at a minimum during lactogenesis II and III (and I say LIII because how many of us have received calls from moms who are freaking out about their supply & come to find out...they are or are about to have their "cycle") because these hormones (in significant quantities) affect milk production...

Let us not forget about FIL (feedback inhibitor of lactation)...this is the reason we say that an empty breast fills quicker than a half full one. During LIII milk synthesis works off an autocrine (locally controlled i.e. breast) system as opposed to the endocrine system (during early pp period)

In this, we've discovered frequent & effective milk removal (by whatever means is feasible for the mother i.e. baby, hand or pump) in the early weeks.....leads us to see that her supply is plentiful in the later months.