Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Mon, 7 Apr 2003 16:04:10 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (31 lines)
My name is Alicia Hanson and I am a nursing student from the University of North Dakota. I have wondered as well as my colleagues about the effects of breast milk in infants when the mother consumes alcohol. When researching this topic, I found contradictory information on the effects of alcohol in the breast milk. Most of the information I found was based upon research in the 1990’s. I am interested in information on occasional consumption of alcohol by the mother. “Occasional” consumption of alcohol would be defined as one or two alcoholic beverages in one setting per week, but not habitual consumption. This would be in a time of a wedding, anniversary, birthday, or other setting that involved alcohol consumption.
            According to Lawrence and Lawrence (1999), alcohol is one of the most rapidly absorbed compounds. Lactators tend to peak at lower levels and clear the alcohol more quickly. Alcohol peak levels in milk is 30 to 60 minutes and 60 to 90 minutes when taken with food. Mohrbacher and Stock (1997) state that “…alcohol is a depressant and if consumed in large amounts can slow the letdown.” Although we assume that it is not healthy and can be harmful to the infant if they drink the breast milk that contains alcohol, neither source directly states the effects of alcohol on the infant.