Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 20 Dec 2001 18:24:27 -0500
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (26 lines)
Hyperbilirubinemia is a very complex topic.  I got interested in it initially when my firstborn had to be admitted to the hospital with an elevated bili (19) which led to quite a week of trying to save breastfeeding while my baby was put on total formula feeds and light therapy.  Since then, I have done a lot of research on this and spoken on this topic several times at LLL confererences.  Being a med tech has made it a lot easier to understand the biochemistry underlying this condition.  But I am still learning.

You need to understand the complexity of bilirubin metabolism to get a handle on all of this.  Hemoglobin in the red cell is released when the cell is destroyed and part of it ends up as bilirubin in the bloodstream.  The bilirubin tries to bind with albumin and how successful that is depends on a lot of factors (the unbound bili is the stuff that can cause the brain damage known as kernicterus.) This bound bilirubin eventually travels to the liver where it separates from the albumin and undergoes several chemical processes, eventually being linked to a substance called glucaronic acid through a process commonly called conjugation.  This conjugated bilirubin is now water soluable and can be eliminated from the body by passing into the bile and then into the intestines.  In the intestines, bacteria transform the bilirubin into several other substances which eventually pass out in the stool (and give most stools their characteristic brown color.)