Reply To:
Lactation Information and Discussion <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Thu, 12 Oct 2017 03:45:51 -0400
Content-Type:
text/plain
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (29 lines)
I want to address the issue of frequency of manual therapy for tied babies. I have been working with bodyworkers for 25 years, including chiropractors, osteopaths (both American and European), PTs, CSTs, CFTs, Rolfers, etc. While I agree that babies often do best with the opportunity to integrate bodywork, but it doesn't take weeks for that to happen. It is best optimized when parents are given oral exercises to facilitate the bodywork. IME, that's the biggest missing piece for most of these babies. Babies nurse 10-12 times per day. They are engaged either functionally or dysfunctionally in feeding every time. Oral exercises given by the IBCLC to be done 3-5x per day by parents make all the difference in most cases. Waiting 2 weeks between bodywork sessions for babies who are nursing poorly does not turn out to improve outcomes. If the bodywork is ineffective, then I agree that frequent, ineffective work is not a benefit. But, frequent, effective work is a benefit. In some cases, the best way to move babies past an impasse is daily bodywork for a few days. 

I would also say that most babies have periods post-release where they do worse than prior to release. When I lecture to dentists, I tell them that, while it feels inspiring to see that first great latch post-release, it is probably the last time they will see that for a long time. Babies need time for neuromuscular rewiring. That's where the oral exercises and manual therapy/bodywork are essential. Dentists/doctors who presume the release is all that is needed or tell patients to "see a bodyworker for follow up w the IBCLC if things don't get better" are drastically undermining care of the dyad. Oral exercises and bodywork both need to begin prior to release and continue post-release. Preparation is just as important as follow-up.